Follow someone on Whatnot Follow someone on Whatnot

Follow someone on Whatnot

Whatnot Support Whatnot Support

This article explains how to follow and unfollow other people on Whatnot, and what following means for your notifications and feed. 

How following works

Following lets you stay connected to another person's activity on Whatnot, like when they go live. You can follow anyone, though most people follow sellers to keep up with their shows.

When you follow someone:

  • You can get a push notification when they go live (see notification options)
  • View their shows in your Followed Hosts feed
  • Enter their follower-only giveaways 

The person you follow can see you in their follower list and may be notified that you followed them.

If they follow you back, you become friends (learn more). 

How to follow someone

From a live show:

  1. Tap or click the Follow button in the top left corner

Outside of a live show:

  1. Navigate to a their profile – from search, a show, or anywhere you see their username
  2. Tap or click the Follow button

How to unfollow someone

From a live show (Whatnot app only):

  1. Tap the seller’s username in the top left corner
  2. Tap Following 
  3. Select Unfollow
  4. Confirm to unfollow

From someone's profile (app or whatnot.com):

  1. Open the seller’s profile.
  2. Tap Following.
  3. On the Whatnot app: Confirm to unfollow

From your following list (Whatnot app only):

  1. Navigate to your Account
  2. Select Profile
  3. Tap “[#] Following” above your account bio
  4. From the list, tap the Following button to unfollow

When you unfollow someone, you will no longer get notifications when they go live (if you had notifications turned on for sellers you follow). You can still get notified if you bookmark a specific show.

See who you follow and who follows you

From the Whatnot app:

  1. Navigate to your Account
  2. Select Profile
  3. Tap [#] Following or [#] Followers above your account bio
  4. Select the Following tab to see who you follow
  5. Select the Followers tab to see who follows you

If someone you follow follows you back, that person will appear as a Friend in this list (learn more). 

From whatnot.com:

  1. Select your profile icon in the top right corner
  2. Click on your username from the side menu
  3. On your profile, click [#] Following on the right side of your profile. From here, you’ll see a list of people you follow
  4. Click [#] Followers to see a list of people who follow you

FAQ

What’s the difference between following a seller and bookmarking a show?

  • Following applies to the seller — you’ll be notified when any of their shows start, and you’ll see all their shows in your Followed Hosts tab . 
  • Bookmarking applies to a show — you’ll be notified when that specific show starts, even if you don’t follow the seller.

Can I still follow a seller, but disable notifications from them?

Yes, you can disable notifications for a specific followed seller by tapping the bell icon on the upper right corner of their profile page. You can disable notifications for all your followed sellers via the notifications settings menu.

Why didn’t I get a notification when a seller I follow went live?

First, check your device notifications settings to make sure Whatnot notifications are allowed.

Then, check your buyer notification settings in the app under Account > Notifications - if your Followed Users notifications are disabled, then you won’t receive notifications when your followed sellers go live. Check the seller’s profile - if you’ve disabled notifications for that seller via the bell icon in the upper right corner of their profile, you won’t receive notifications. 

What is the difference between friends and followers?

Following is one-way: you follow someone to keep up with them. Friends means you follow each other back. 

Friends can see activity status, see when you’re in the same livestream, and message each other from the Friends tab (learn more).

Can I remove one of my followers or stop someone from following me?

Blocking someone prevents them from interacting with you. If you block someone, then they can no longer follow you. 


Related articles